They Called it the Worst.

APRIL 20, 1999

I’m only 5 years old and in Kindergarten when I experience my first school lockdown.

The news comes in quick that Columbine High School, only two miles away from my elementary school is experiencing a shooting. Two young men named Dylan Klebold and Eric Harris have walked into the school with shotguns and rifles and opened fire. I don’t remember much from that day except that the atmosphere was steeped in fear. My mother picks me up as soon as the lockdown is over.

We go home and my mother watches the news. She learns that 13 people have been killed.  I play with plastic dinosaurs in my bedroom.

They call it one of the worst shootings in American history.

People send their thoughts and prayers.

The world moves forward.

 

JULY 20, 2012

My parents wake up to a phone call from my older brother.

“Is Chase ok?” he asks.

Confused, they peek into my bedroom and find me sleeping soundly.

It’s the summer before my Freshman year in college and I’m trying to make the most of the summer before textbooks and long homework hours take over my life.

The night before, a group of friends and myself had gone to the midnight showing of The Dark Knight Rises, a movie I had been looking forward to for a long time.

I had mentioned this to my brother. And that’s why he called.

Because the night before, in Aurora, Colorado, a place only a few miles from where I lived at the time, James Holmes walked into a crowded midnight showing of The Dark Knight Rises and opened fire on the crowd with assault weapons.

I wake up the next morning to several texts from friends asking if I’m alright.

I watch the news for hours, hoping I don’t see any familiar faces on the list of those who were killed. My heart aches and I briefly think about how easy it would have been for me to be in that very theater that very night.

It is the first time in my life that I truly acknowledge that I am not safe.

12 people are killed that night in the movie theater.

They call it one of the worst shootings in American history.

People send their thoughts and prayers.

The world moves forward.

 

DECEMBER 14, 2012

It is the last Friday of my first semester in college and I find myself running across campus with a 25-pound backpack trying not to be late to my last final.

It’s a cold December day and the wind is bitter and harsh. It nips at my face as I run.

Meanwhile, halfway across the country, in Newtown, Connecticut, a 20-year old man walks into Sandy Hook Elementary School and opens fire with a rifle.

It is not until later in the day that I hear the news. I sit in my dorm room for hours and read articles about the event. My heart is in pieces.

This time, it’s children.

It’s the first time in my life that I acknowledge that, not only am I not safe, but neither are our children.

I note that today should be a happy day for people like me who have finished their first semester of college.

It is not a happy day. Instead, I feel utterly broken.

At the end of the day, 27 people are killed, most of them children of about the age of 6 or 7.

They call it one of the worst shootings in American history.

People send their thoughts and prayers.

The world moves forward.

 

DECEMBER 13, 2013

It has been almost exactly a year since the Sandy Hook shooting.

It is the last day of the semester and I find myself walking through the kitchen of one of the dining halls on campus. I adjust the nametag on my uniform.

As I walk through the kitchen I hear the words, “Arapahoe High School” from somewhere. I turn a corner and see two people talking.

“What was that you just said about Arapahoe?” I ask, “That’s where I went.”

The girl who had been speaking looks at me for a long second before she answers. I can tell that she is hesitating.

“There was a shooting there today,” she says.

I feel my stomach drop.

Thirty minutes later, at the end of my shift, I find myself in my dorm room once more, watching the news on my laptop.

I try calling some of the people I know who might still be in the building. I get no answers.

I call my ex-girlfriend and ask if she has heard from her brother or sister who were both in the school when the shooting started.

She cries on the phone and tells me she hasn’t.

I ask her to keep me updated.

At the end of the day, we learn that a Senior boy from the school walked in with a shotgun. He shot 17-year-old Claire Davis on his way to the library, where he intended to kill a member of the school faculty – a librarian who I personally knew during my time at the school.

I drive by the school the day after the shooting. The building has crime scene tape wrapped all the way around the perimeter.

I attend a candlelight vigil where people talk about what happened and what they will do moving forward. It is beautiful. There are tears and hugs and singing.

I look on Facebook and find alumni posting the school logo, an Arapahoe Warrior, as their profile pictures along with the phrase, “Warriors always take care of one another”.

It is unity in the face of tragedy.

A few days after the shooting, Claire Davis passes away.

They don’t call it one of the worst shootings in American history.

Instead, they praise the school faculty and the school resource officer who responded quickly.

But I can’t get my mind off of the parents of Claire Davis. And how, that morning, when they said goodbye to her, they probably didn’t think it was going to be the last time they ever spoke to their daughter.

People send their thoughts and prayers.

The world moves forward.

 

JUNE 12, 2016

I wake up. It feels like a normal summer morning. I slept far too long and now I am groggy. I stumble into the kitchen to brew some coffee.

“Did you hear about Orlando?” my roommate asks me from the living room.

“No,” I answer, “What happened?”

But I already know. I have a feeling.

I read about it a few minutes later. About how a man walked into a gay nightclub in Orlando with an assault weapon and killed 49 people.

“Surely, enough is enough,” I think.

“Surely, something will change this time.”

It doesn’t.

The shooting is the topic of much debate in the coming months. I watch the presidential candidates duke it out on stage during the debates. They talk about gun control but they don’t say much about what they will do.

Donald Trump wins the support of the NRA.

A short time later, he becomes President.

The shooting is devastating.

They call it the worst shooting in American history.

People send their thoughts and prayers.

The world moves forward.

 

OCTOBER 1, 2017

I’m up late, as I usually am on Sunday nights.

I am scrolling through Facebook when I see something about an active shooter situation in Las Vegas.

Perhaps it is the late night hour or the melatonin supplement that I just took, but I scroll onward, thinking, “Oh, it’s probably just some guy with a handgun. I’m sure things will be taken care of soon.”

I wake up the next morning and look at the news.

50 dead. Over 500 injured.

I’m shocked into silence.

In the following hours, I learn that a man who was staying at the Mandalay Bay Resort shot out of his window with assault weapons at the country music festival across the street. He had at least 20 firearms in his hotel room. Some of those were rifles equipped with scopes. Some of those were described as “AR-15 style assault rifles”.  He had hundreds of rounds of ammunition and used several different weapons during the attack.

At the time of this writing, the death toll from the incident is: 59 dead, 527 injured.

They are calling it the worst shooting in American history.

People are sending their thoughts and prayers.

It’s too early to even think about the world moving forward.

 

At this point, the normal responses feel like tropes to me.

How many times have we called something the worst shooting in American history?

How many times have people sent their thoughts and prayers?

How many times have we moved forward?

How many times have we said, “Now is the time for action” only for no action to be taken?

How many candlelight vigils must we hold?

How many mothers and fathers and sisters and brothers must attend funerals for loved ones who didn’t have to die?

How many active shooter drills must we practice?

How many times before it all gets old?

Before words run short and hearts go cold and people grow weary?

Before our passion turns into shrugs?

Before the suffering we see becomes too much and we wonder if there is anything left to do?

Before we buy into the lie that “there’s nothing to be done” or that “things like this will always happen”?

How much longer before enough is enough?

On April 20, 1999, enough was enough.

On July 20, 2012, enough was enough.

On December 14, 2012, enough was enough.

On December 13, 2013, enough was enough.

On June 12, 2016, enough was enough.

When is enough TRULY enough?

Is it today?

Or is this just another chapter in an endless saga?

I don’t know the answers. But my prayer is that this story of gun violence in our country ends soon. That we can close the cover and put it on the shelf and never open it again.

I don’t know. But I hope.

I hope we can rise.

I hope we can learn.

I hope we can love more.

I hope we can stop judging each other so harshly.

I hope we can step forward in unity.

I hope we can one day, finally, say “enough is enough” and actually mean it.

I hope.

~

~

~

~

  • Since this article was posted, there have been major mass shootings at:
    • Sutherland Springs, Texas – November 5, 2017
    • Parkland, Florida – February 14, 2018
    • Santa Fe, Texas – May 18, 2018
    • Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania – October 27, 2018
    • Thousand Oaks, California – November 8, 2018

 

This list hardly covers the gun violence that happens every day in our country. These are simply the shootings that have gotten the most media attention. For a more comprehensive list, please visit: https://www.gunviolencearchive.org/reports/mass-shooting

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

30 thoughts on “They Called it the Worst.

  1. Thank you for writing this. And thank you for sharing a link for how people can help right now – while thoughts and prayers are beautiful, we can make an impact and show support for the victims & their families by taking action ourselves.

    I’ve been struggling to find the words to say, but this post really resonates with me. The first time I heard of a mass shooting: I was also in kindergarten at my elementary school down the street from Columbine in April 1999. The only thing I vividly remember the day of that shooting was my teacher taping the windows of the classroom with black paper to shield us from the sight of high school students, some who were injured, running to our school for safety.

    Like you, I hope. I hope we can learn. I hope we can love more. As we get older, it breaks my heart to see these tragedies happen more and more.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I totally agree with you. there was also Virginia tech and platte canyon high school. it makes me mad that the president won’t talk about gun violence.

    Like

  3. I don’t think I have ever read anything that has given me the chills as much as this did. Thank you for being able to articulate exactly how I feel, because I haven’t been able to find the words.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is truly beautiful. I’ve never read your work before, but you have a gift. Please continue to use your voice, especially in times like these. I hope one day, soon, enough is enough.

    Like

  5. Thank you for this chilling summary. I also remember Columbine vividly. I was the mom picking up my son from lock down. He was 7. Later that night, I asked him if he was ok. He said, “Yes Mommy, I’m ok, no one shot any one at my school.” I sure hope that we can get to a place where enough is enough.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I wish there was a glimmer of an answer for these questions. As an older person looking back at the increasing violence and the innocents who are hurt or dead, I feel terrible for them. As you wrote so well, the world moves forward. We are all shocked and confused, but just letting it become less shocking each time will never help. We DO need unity in this fractured country. Thank you for your, and many others’, perspective.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. My opinion. Great story/read. I’m all for debates and actually something becoming an action on how to stop these senseless shootings. You never know until you try. A wise man once said “You miss 100 perecent of the shots you don’t take” (no pun intended) If everyone just keeps saying nothing can be done then, well nothing will be done! If you tell yourself something long enough it will becoming engraved as truth in your mind. Unfortunately, I only see the wold becoming worse as the years grow on. With rising populations, crowding begins to happen. Therefore even more people will be out at events only for another terrorist/mentality ill person to take more innocent lives. It’s common logic that the next shooting is always “the worst in American history” it’s like the media wants this record to be broken every year. Social platforms have only brought the worst out in the world. Scroll through comments anywhere and you’ll see the majority as hatred. It’s the reason why I know this world is only going to become worse than it already is. It’s too late. We don’t have leaders anymore like we once did in the 19th and 20th centuries. No, instead our youth is following an array of negativity and false perception given out by fake media along with fake celebrities. Just take a moment and open your eyes, to the type of world we live in today… I’ve lost hope.

    Like

  8. Thank you for such a beautiful and poignant piece that clearly puts this issue into perspective. I too am a Colorado native and was too close for comfort to the shootings you were. I think it gives us a better morality about gun ownership and goodsense regulations. It’s easy to “move forward’ when it doesn’t affect you directly, as thankfully most of this country hasn’t been. But as more and more are, “I hope” the country doesn’t just move forward but actually takes a stand against the NRA and changes this broken system. Again, thank you.

    Like

  9. Thank you for writing this. I had my own active shooter situation I lived through back in January, coming home from a vacation in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. I had the thoughts of “Will I ever see my family again” or “Am I going to die today”. Nobody should have to have those thoughts on a regular day, but I was one of the lucky ones. I was not one of the 8 people simply trying to grab their baggage.
    I do not think people truly understand how necessary it is to tighten gun control laws and to restrict access to assault style weapons. These NRA backed politicians clearly have no idea what it is like to have to face the possibility that your vacation, or your school day, or your outing to see a movie, ends in death and despair. I wish that those who say that gun control is not an issue could have spent five minutes in any of our shoes who have been in an active shooter situation and understand that yes, guns, as they are now, ARE an issue.
    Thank you for writing this and sharing your experience. I agree with you that “thoughts and prayers” are not, and have never been, enough. It is time to take action and make a difference. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Thank you for putting words down. I went to Araphoe the class after you I believe. I remember all those feelings so clearly. We have to stick together. Warriors take care of one another, take care of everyone.

    Like

  11. This is a heartfelt, sincere appeal to the people of America who have inherited both the 2nd Amendment and the challenges of interpreting it. It has become necessary to discuss our options regarding how we can maintain an open society and keep our freedoms intact.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Chase, I am a speech coach in Iowa, and I’m wondering if one of my students could use this piece as part of a lit program. It’s beautifully crafted.

    Like

    1. Diane,

      Thank you for your kind words. I would be honored for your student to use this piece in whatever way helps them best. I hope it fosters good discussion.

      – Chase

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Very well written! Every time i hear of another shooting I think back to the 1st school shooting in Thurston, Oregon. Makes me wonder if Kip Kinkle had not gone on a shooting rampage that day, would other similar shootings in the future have happened?

    Like

  14. Thank you all for these comments. I’m truly honored and humbled that these words have resonated with so many.

    A few commenters have mentioned something that I would like to address quickly. For the sake of space and time, I did not speak specifically about all of the shooting tragedies that have happened in the US in recent years. For this piece, I focused mostly on my personal experience growing up near a few shootings that have taken place near me and the shootings that, in their time, were called “the worst”. I do this simply to speak from experience and to show the escalation that these crimes seem to have taken. This is why I don’t mention events such as Charleston or Virginia Tech despite the fact that those events disturbed me just as deeply as the ones I have written about.

    Thank you all for your words here. I appreciate any and all discussion that this article hopefully inspires.

    – Chase

    Liked by 2 people

  15. Chase
    You truly have a Gift for writing. I hope you know that and continue to use your talent to reach out and touch the rest of us with your beautiful words.
    I too live in Colorado, though on the western slope; yet I remember all too well the horror and pain of the Colorado shootings and all of rhe others as well. I don’t pretend to know the answer, but I do believe that regardless of what laws they might decide to pass, it won’t help and this won’t stop until we can learn to put aside the hatred and begin to love each other…… and teach our children Tolerance so maybe they will have a chance to make the world a better place.
    I would like to share some of your words and will give you credit, but only have your first name. If you are ok with this and will provide your last name, I will be happy to include your full name as the author.
    Your poem, “Reaching” is incredibly beautiful and really touched my soul. Thank you.

    Like

  16. My college student shared your article with me. So very poignant. I have no words. You and your generation are the future. That gives me hope. Thank you for your words.

    Like

  17. Chase: I’m quite a bit older than you so I remember others going back to Charles Whitman at UT in 1966.

    Maybe you generation will grow up, take control of the country and change things. Sadly, my generation will not. Because as Bill O’Reilly said the other day, this is viewed by (too) many as an acceptable price to pay for the freedom to be armed to the teeth.

    I used to get angry about this. Now it just saddens me. Because this is what America is and I used to think better of our nation than I do today.

    Like

  18. Not in most instances.. Murder is illegal. Laws are not about to prevent anything. Would this have been better is someone done a truck into the crowds? Or planted bombs? This is a tragedy. But it isn’t the guns fault. In fact there could have been more deaths if some other option was used.

    Like

  19. This one is different in a way. The other shootings were more personal, in the sense that the shooter showed up at school, theater, or nightclub and personally shot victims down. Yes, the shooter aimed at people, but no one saw in coming. They couldn’t hide or see who was doing it. There was so much distance between him and the crowd that made it all worse. Now it feels like no matter how much we protect ourselves in a building, at a sporting event, on an airplane, we need to be sure surrounding places are doing the same. Like the author, I have grown up as all of these events have occurred. It scares me and is heartbreaking. When is enough is enough?!

    Like

  20. Everyone wants to blame the gun. Everyone wants to ask why these shootings take place. Everyone wonders what can be done going forward. It’s easy folks. Look at society and what society has done to create the perfect environment for these shootings to happen. We, as a society, have said it’s okay to kill the unborn. We, as a society, have said it’s okay to have children out of wedlock without a father. We, as a society, have said it’s okay for the father and mother to divorce, leaving families torn apart and the children wondering, “was it my fault.” We, as a society, have a disdain for God and have demanded God be removed from our schools, our public institutions and from society in general. We, as a society, have said it’s okay to have two mothers or two fathers instead of a loving mother and a loving father, a man and a woman who bring there own special talent, traits and emotions to the table. We, as a society, mock men who want to be and act like men as mother nature and their genetic makeup intended them to be. We, as a society, have said if you’re a man it’s okay to be woman, and if you’re a woman it’s okay to be a man. If you want answers, compare society when mass shootings were not commonplace to society when mass shootings are commonplace and look at the differences. The answer is a plain as the nose on our faces: The nuclus of the traditional family, and faith in God. Look at the background of every one of these killers and one will find the common theme. Alas, no one truly wants to address the real problem.

    Like

  21. I do realize you are too young to remember, but please do NOT forget about the McDonalds massacre that happened in July 18, 1984 in San Ysidro, CA. It took 21 lives and 19 injuries. Lives were changed in 77 minutes. He took no mercy whether it was a child, an adult, a senior citizen, any race, male or female. At that moment, it WAS the worst mass shooting in modern American history.

    Like

  22. Thank you.
    My daughter was just shy of kindergarten. We lived just south of Columbine. I was teaching at a school in Lakewood. Two of our students had a parent who were teachers at Columbine. Two of our teachers had kids there. I watched them waiting terrified until they knew their loved ones were safe. That changed me. I was teaching when Sandy Hook happened just down the rode from where my father grew up. That devastated me. My daughter was just starting college when Aurora happened. She met a few people who had been in the theater. That changed her. She worked at Disney World the summer before the night club shooting. Again she waited to find out if she knew someone. As a mother I was thankful that It didn’t happen when she was there as I wouldn’t know if she was there. When I woke up after Vegas I knew my nephew and his wife were there. They are new parents and had left their 6 month old with grandma. Again I prayed we would hear from them.
    Now that all my family is safe I need to figure out what I can do besides pray to stop this.

    Like

Leave a comment